Holiday Happiness with Donna Simonetta!

Today on Nitty Gritty Romance, we have the always fun and fabulous Donna Simonetta who is here to share some Holiday Happiness with us!

PLUS!!! She’s going to share some info about her novel, Angels Fly…AND we get a sneak peek at her NEW RELEASE, A Sweeter Spot! Yay!!! Thanks for stopping by, Donna!

From Donna:

True confession time. I’m a total sucker for the holiday season. The lights, the music, sappy holiday movies, romance novels with holiday themes, Christmas trees and decorations, cookies–the whole great big, sparkly Christmas ornament of a time.

There are pressures too. On our time, and on our wallets. To find the perfect gifts for our loved ones, and missing loved ones who have gone, but I try to focus on the pleasures, and one of the biggest pleasures of the season for me is getting to spend time with my family. My husband and I live in another state, and we only get to see my mom and sisters for a week in the summer and a week at Christmas. One way we alleviate the stress of the season is by avoiding the hellacious drive up I95 from Maryland to Connecticut by taking the train. We treat ourselves to the Acela Express, and it gets the vacation off to a festive start. Well…except for the year there was a blizzard and they crammed several cancelled trains worth of people onto the Vermonter. Trust me, it was nothing like when they took the Vermonter in the movie “White Christmas”.

52f09e29-4b58-46af-a6b5-601e74c3e731 But I digress. Back to happy. By the time we arrive at the station in Stamford, I’m so excited, I’m ready to jump out of the train and sprint down the platform. Leo and I don our personalized Santa hats. Yes. You read that correctly. My husband and I have personalized Santa hats–you can’t say I didn’t warn you that I was a nut for the holiday! The sister who picks us up at the station is as bonkers for the holidays as I am, and even her car is decked out for the season, with antlers on the windows, and a giant, red Rudolph nose on the grill.

The station is elevated over the tracks, so to get to the pick-up area, we have to go down a long escalator to the sidewalk where cars and taxis are lined up to meet travelers. I know Mary is waiting down there for us, and my heart always races with excitement. I can’t wait to get my first glimpse of her, but the roof of the station overhangs the escalator, and I can’t see unless I bend over to peek as we glide downward. So, of course, I bend and peek. And there she is! My sister is next to her cheery SUV–smiling, waving, and jumping up and down. My heart feels like it could burst, it’s so full of happiness. When we finally get to the bottom, we drag our suitcases and race toward Mary.  We squeal and hug, while Leo loads the luggage into the back of her rig. Once we all pile into the car to drive to my mom’s house, Mary always has Mele Kalikimaka queued up on the sound system, and we sing along as we ride down the highway to continue the celebration with my other sister and my mom. It is always one of the happiest moments of my year.

Wherever the road takes you this week, may you feel the same happiness I am, when I’m riding down that escalator tomorrow afternoon. Happy Holidays! And Mele Kalikimaka to all of you!

****

Thanks, Donna! Now here’s the peek at her  NEW novel,

A SWEETER SPOT:

Magda knows a 28-year-old shouldn’t run away from home, but Rivers Bend is the ideal escape. Helping out her best friend will get her away from her uber-wealthy, controlling grandmother and duplicitous ex. She doesn’t expect the quirky little town to feel so much like home. Add in hotter-than-the-sun Jeff and his daughter, and leaving seems as unthinkable as it is inevitable.

 Raising Sam alone, Jeff knew he wanted her to grow up in his supportive hometown. The arrival of a feisty new tenant sends Jeff’s world spinning. Magda fills a void in his life that he’d like to make permanent.

 Will love triumph over the most powerful woman in the country, and can they figure out how to make this happy-for-now in Rivers Bend into their happy-ever-after?

Sounds great! Where can you get it…? Available for PRE-ORDER NOW! 

asweeterspot_w10867_750

Amazon  

 The Wild Rose Press

 

And here’s a bit about ANGELS FLY!

Two years after her husband’s death, Kelly believes her romantic life is done. Until she angelsfly_w10335_750reconnects with her girlhood crush on social media, and as fate would have it, he lives across the street.

 James is over the whole true-love thing. His grasping ex-wife tore that belief out of him, when she left him for a rich, old man. Then he finds out his first love moved to San Diego too, and their attraction burns as hot as ever.

 What they don’t know is that Fate didn’t bring them together – the Guardian Angel Corps did, led by two unlikely Cupids – Kelly’s late husband and Zane, a rough and tumble, 19th century cowboy. When a Fallen Angel decides to tear Kelly and James apart, cherubs and harps aren’t going to cut it, and Zane’s unique skills might be just what they need to get a second chance at their first love.

 

Oooo! Where can you get this one?

 

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Amazon UK

The Wild Rose Press

 

Hey! I want to meet Donna! Well, this is where you’ll find her:

Facebook

 Twitter

 

About Donna:

After years working in the business world, my love of reading led me to get my MLS, and I currently work part-time in a school library, a job that allows me lots of time to explore my other love – writing romance! I live in Maryland, with my husband, who is my real-life romance hero. We both enjoy traveling to visit our far-flung family and friends, and spending time on the beach with an umbrella drink and a good book.

 

Thanks for stopping by! Happy Reading!

 

 

 

 

 

About cathrinegoldstein

Author of romance and YA fiction... View all posts by cathrinegoldstein

2 responses to “Holiday Happiness with Donna Simonetta!

Leave a Reply

